The best Suno alternative for most people is Stable Audio, which has a commercial license on every plan and meters generation by credits with no monthly download count. ElevenLabs Music is the closest match if you still want vocals, AIVA suits you if you want to own the copyright, and ACE-Step 1.5 is the free option if you can run a model yourself.
We make Oryn, a game maker that generates soundtracks, and we come at this from the game side, so weigh that. We didn't test these tools by ear, which means nothing here says one sounds better than Suno. Pricing and terms come from each vendor's own pages as they read on November 3, 2026.
Why people look for a Suno alternative
Suno is still good value on paper. As of November 2026, Pro is listed at $8 a month and Premier at $24 with a yearly billing toggle (the page's savings lines suggest about $10 and $30 billed monthly), it generates up to 8 minutes at a time, and stem separation comes with both plans. If you make full songs with vocals, and those limits suit you, you may not need to move.
Three things send people looking.
Download caps. Pro allows 20 song downloads a month and Premier 60, and the free plan allows none. These caps follow the Warner deal of November 2025, which said downloads would need a paid account with a monthly allowance. Under the terms effective September 3, 2026, you can only exploit output commercially if you got it through a permitted download.
Rights. Suno assigns you its rights in output on paid plans, and those rights last after you cancel. The same terms make no promise that copyright exists in any output, keep remixes personal and non-commercial on every tier, and let Suno add watermarks you may not remove to hide an output's origin.
The legal situation. On September 18, 2026, Universal and Sony sued Suno a second time in federal court in Boston, targeting the v6 models launched on September 9. They allege about 60,202 recordings were used without a license and that v6 descends from earlier models trained on them. Suno's chief product officer said at launch that v6 was trained from scratch, without Universal or Sony data, and Suno built it with partners including Warner, BMG and Believe. Variety and Engadget also covered the suit. Users aren't named as defendants in Music Business Worldwide's account, nothing we read says users face liability, and no court had ruled on the new complaint in what we found. These are allegations, and we aren't predicting the outcome.
Suno alternatives compared
| Tool | Starting price | Commercial use | Downloads | Vocals | Stems or MIDI | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Suno (for reference) | $8 billed yearly | Pro and Premier | 20 or 60 a month | Yes | Stems | Full songs |
| ElevenLabs Music | $6 | From Starter, with exclusions | 30 min a month on Starter | Yes | Regenerate a section | Songs plus effects and voice |
| Stable Audio | Free; $12 | All plans | Credits, no download count on pricing page | Not stated on pages read | Multi-track | Instrumental work, games |
| AIVA | Free; €11 billed yearly | Full on Pro at €33 | 3, 15 or 300 a month | Not stated | MIDI | Scores you own and edit |
| Soundraw | €5.83 | All paid plans | Unlimited on Creator | Not stated | Stems from €12.42 | Background tracks |
| Beatoven | $6, per homepage data | Paid downloads | 15 min a month | Not stated | Stems on paid plans | Video and game backgrounds |
| Mubert | $14; $39 for commercial | Pro; apps and games on Business | Unlimited on paid plans | Not stated | Regenerate stems | Long tracks and loops |
| Google Lyria 3.5 | $0.08 a song | Not confirmed | API | Yes | Not mentioned | Scripted batches |
| ACE-Step 1.5 | Free | MIT; card allows it | Local files | Not checked | Repaint sections | Running it yourself |
The 8 Suno alternatives
1. ElevenLabs Music: closest match with vocals
Eleven Music generates 3 seconds to 5 minutes, with vocals or instrumental, and lets you edit sound and lyrics section by section or regenerate one part of a track. Starter at $6 a month gives 17 generated and 30 downloaded minutes, and Creator at $22 gives 62 and 250, under the music terms updated October 9, 2026.
Read those terms for your use. Film, TV and radio are excluded on self-serve plans, Starter can't distribute to streaming services, and the plans through Pro are for individuals. Games are allowed only under revenue limits, with larger titles needing Enterprise Music. Only the free plan requires attribution, and it can't download at all.
It suits creators who want songs, sound effects and voiceover in one account. If your main goal is releasing many songs, do the sums first: Starter's 17 generated minutes is about five three-minute songs, before any retakes.
2. Stable Audio: fewest license worries
Stability says commercial use is permitted on every plan, Free included, and names mobile apps, desktop software and video games. Plans are Free (50 credits), Solo $12 (660), Session $30 (1,800), Producer $90 (6,000) and Studio $199 (14,000), with tracks up to six minutes and a DAW plugin. Stability says its 3.0 models were trained on fully licensed datasets, which is its own claim, and the Small and Medium weights are downloadable. Credits reset monthly.
It suits producers and game developers who want parts and instrumentals. Our sources don't describe it as a vocal song tool, so Suno users who mostly write sung songs should try it on the free plan before they move. Indemnity is limited to Enterprise agreements.
3. AIVA: for scores you want to own
AIVA's Pro plan at €33 a month plus VAT, billed yearly, gives 300 downloads a month, tracks up to 5:30, every file format, and copyright assigned to you. MIDI output means you can rewrite the piece in a DAW. The cheaper plans keep copyright with AIVA: Free has no monetization, and Standard at €11 limits monetization to YouTube, Twitch, TikTok and Instagram.
It suits composers and game developers who want orchestral or cinematic work to edit by hand. Its pricing page doesn't mention vocals, so it won't replace Suno for songs.
4. Soundraw: unlimited downloads for little money
Creator was shown to us at €5.83 a month with the annual toggle selected, with unlimited MP3 downloads, and commercial use in your projects, including video games. It says it trains only on input from its in-house musicians, which is its own claim. Artist plans (€10.75 to €17.42) let you release to Spotify and similar services, but only after you modify the beat so it sounds clearly different. WAV and stems start at Artist Pro. For relaxation and lo-fi tracks used unmodified, content can stay published only while your subscription is active. Tracks are licensed, and you can't register Content ID on them.
It suits video makers and anyone who needs a lot of background music. Musicians who want to release generated songs as they come out of the tool will find its rules stricter than Suno's.
5. Beatoven: a simple background license
Beatoven's game page describes a non-exclusive perpetual license with each download that lets you monetize your content, with Beatoven keeping ownership. You can't resell, register or distribute tracks on streaming services. The structured data on its homepage lists plans at $6 (15 download minutes), $10 (30), $20 (60) and $3 per minute; its pricing page returned a 404 when we checked, so treat those as unconfirmed.
It suits people making videos, podcasts or games who want a track per project and a clean paper trail per download. It won't help if you want songs on Spotify.
6. Mubert: long tracks and loops, but read the tiers
Mubert's pricing separates uses more than most. Creator at $14 ($11.69 billed yearly) is non-commercial. Pro at $39 ($32.49 billed yearly) adds monetized content and ads. Business at $199 ($149.29 billed yearly) adds apps, games and client work. Paid plans run tracks up to 25 minutes with unlimited WAV and MP3 downloads, and its guide describes a loop mode. No plan allows publishing to Spotify or similar services, or registering Content ID.
It suits streamers and video makers on Pro who need long background tracks. Musicians releasing work should look elsewhere, since distribution is barred on every plan.
7. Google Lyria 3.5: per-song API pricing
Google's Gemini API charges $0.08 per song on Lyria 3.5, with no free tier for that model, and $0.04 for a 30-second Lyria 3 Clip. Songs run "a couple of minutes", and the docs say every file carries a SynthID watermark and that requests for specific artist voices or copyrighted lyrics get blocked. Multi-turn editing isn't supported on 3.5.
It suits developers generating audio by script who'd otherwise pay for a subscription. We didn't find a Google statement that plainly covers commercial release of music, so read the API terms before you ship.
8. ACE-Step 1.5: free and on your own machine
ACE-Step 1.5 is an MIT-licensed open model, and its card states generated music can be used commercially. The card says it needs under 4 GB of VRAM, runs from short loops to 10-minute pieces, and supports repainting and cover generation. There's no account, no download cap and no plan to change under you, though you handle setup and hardware yourself, and any question of training data and third-party rights stays with you.
It suits technical users, and anyone who wants no monthly bill.
The one to skip for now: Udio
Udio is the name most lists offer first, and it's the wrong move today if you need files. Its help center says downloading of audio, video and stems has been disabled since its October 29, 2025 partnership with Universal Music. Standard at $10 and Pro at $30 still let you create and share inside Udio. It has since signed deals with Warner, Merlin and Kobalt for a licensed platform, and we found no launch announcement as of November 3, 2026. Come back to it if downloads return.
How to choose
Pick by what you'll do with the file.
- Release songs to Spotify: stay on Suno or try ElevenLabs Creator, which permits streaming distribution. Soundraw works only after you modify the beats, and Mubert and Beatoven don't allow it.
- Put music in monetized videos: Soundraw Creator, Beatoven or Mubert Pro.
- Put music in a game you sell: Stable Audio is our default, and best AI music generator for games has the full comparison. Our game music guide covers loops and Steam disclosure.
- Own and edit the composition: AIVA Pro.
- Avoid subscriptions: ACE-Step 1.5 or the Lyria API.
Whatever you pick, save a copy of the terms on the day you generate a track, plus the plan, date and prompt. Download rules changed at both Suno and Udio within the last year, and ElevenLabs ties output to the plan you were on when you made it.
If you're making a game
If the music is for a game, you might not need a separate music subscription at all. In Oryn, every new game gets one generated soundtrack written from your design, so there's no model to choose and no download limit to manage. Some generated assets need a commercial-use check, so read your game's CREDITS.md before you sell. A build takes about 30 minutes, and a game gets one soundtrack, so tools above are better if you want many cues or stems.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best alternative to Suno?
As of November 2026, Stable Audio is our default for instrumental work because its commercial license covers every plan, and ElevenLabs Music is the nearest match for songs with vocals. AIVA Pro suits you if you want copyright and MIDI, and ACE-Step 1.5 if you want it free and local. We based this on terms and features, without listening tests.
Is there a free Suno alternative?
Yes. ACE-Step 1.5 is free and MIT-licensed if you run it on your own GPU, and Stable Audio's free plan gives 50 credits a month, about 12 full mixes, with a commercial license. ElevenLabs' free plan generates music but doesn't allow downloads.
Is Udio better than Suno?
For anyone who needs files, no. Udio's help center says audio, video and stem downloads are disabled, whereas Suno's Pro and Premier plans allow 20 or 60 downloads a month. We didn't compare how they sound.
Is Suno being sued?
Yes. Universal and Sony filed a second suit in Boston federal court on September 18, 2026, over its v6 models, on top of the 2024 case. Warner settled with Suno in November 2025. Music Business Worldwide's account doesn't name users as defendants.
Do I own the music I make on Suno?
On Pro and Premier, Suno assigns you its rights in your output, and they last after you cancel, though you can only use downloaded tracks commercially. On the free plan, tracks are personal and non-commercial. Suno doesn't promise that copyright exists in any output.
Which Suno alternative has no download limit?
Soundraw's Creator plan and Mubert's paid plans list unlimited downloads, and ACE-Step runs locally with no limit. Stable Audio meters generations by credits, and its pricing page lists no separate download count.